“Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” (2011) Review

(source)

Guillermo del Toro’s “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” was another film I just got to see with my horror film companion, HorrorCrone. I must say, this horror (or shall I say, suspense/drama/mystery) was entertaining. It kept me at the edge of my seat. I really don’t understand why it didn’t do so well in the box office. The acting was great -especially from 12 year-old Bailee Madison who played to role of young Sally in the film-, the CGI and stunts were great, and overall I really enjoyed this film.

“Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” was based off of a film that originally was televised in 1973 directed by John Newland and written by Nigel McKeand. Shockingly (insert sarcasm), the 1973 original got better ratings than the 2011 remake. Although, the remake was still pretty amazing.

“Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” was one of those films that are great, but you really shouldn’t pay to see it. This is probably why it only made about $24M in the box office. The film didn’t even make to it’s budget ($25M). This is quite rare for a Guillmero del Toro film.

Overall, I rate this film a 7.6/10 stars.

Thanks for reading! Be sure to follow me on Twitter @rhfang! Also, be sure to subscribe to “Totally Horror” to know when we release a new post.

One thought on ““Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” (2011) Review

  1. Horrorcrone here. I couldn’t agree more with your rating, Fang. I really enjoyed watching this with you, and there were a few times when I jumped, but all in all, I am glad we didn’t pay the outrageous prices they charge at the local cinemaplex. It was fun popping corn and drinking Coke Zeros in our own Horror-cave in the basement, which has it’s share of spooks and phantoms (otherwise known as the TerrorKitty). I remember watching the original with the Madly Insane Dame, my mother, when I was about 10, and man! That was scary scary back then. The remake followed the original, but still had some twists, so it added to my overall experience.

    I am currently reading the prequel book co-written by del Toro, which I will review on Totallyhorror once done. It’s a great companion piece to the movie.

    Cheers, all. And keep on screaming!

Leave a Reply

