CURSED – Mini Review

Halloween is right around the corner and I have this sudden love for Werewolves. And the most recent Werewolf movies I saw was ‘Cursed’, a 2005 horror flick directed by the great Wes Craven starring Christina Ricci, Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network), and Portia de Rossi (Nip/Tuck) centered on three young adults in Los Angeles, who, after being mauled by the beast, learn they must kill their attacker if they hope to change their fate to avoid becoming werewolves too. This film was pretty good in my opinion. It had great CGI, pretty good acting, and good writing too.

‘Cursed’ started production in 2003. It was the reunion of Wes Craven and Kevin Williamson, who hit big with ‘Scream’ back in the 1990s.

What’s rare in many Werewolf films is that in this one the Werewolf is female. And I like how they didn’t make the wolf a cute wolf, but a bloodthirsty horrifying beast! The way the pretty woman transformed into the wolf was just amazing special affects.

When I saw the film, I had no idea it was rated R! It does not even look like a R rated film. I’d say it’s for kids (who love horror) from 13 and up.

The only bad thing about the film is the lack of blood and guts. I feel that the definition of a horror movie is that it should always have horrifying scenes and blood and gore. One example of a great Werewolf movie was the 2010 film , ‘The Wolfman’.  That film was super gorey (I mean almost made me sick gorey)! And I feel that is how a Werewolf film should be.

Thanks for reading, be sure to follow me on Twitter @rhfang! Also, be sure to subscribe to “Totally Horror” to know when we release new posts!

Leave a Reply

